How to become a Data Scientist?

Start your Data Science career - Bachelor and Master degree courses, bootcamps and online courses at a glance

We will show you how to acquire a stable skill set to help you get started in data science and other data-related disciplines. On this page we have therefore compiled general information about the job. And you will find a list of all important Bachelor's and Master's programs, as well as the most important certified courses and a few other learning paths that can prepare you for your Data Science career.

Bachelor

Are you interested in a Bachelor in Data Science? We have listed all relevant courses of study for you.

learn more

Master

Are you looking for a Data Science Master's program that will allow you to build on your existing knowledge? Then this is the right place for you.

learn more

Courses & Bootcamps

You don't like studying? Don't worry, you can also build your data science skills through a bootcamp or an online course.

learn more

FAQ

What exactly is a data scientist doing?

Data Scientists have very good chances on the job market. This is due to the fact that companies nowadays collect data almost non-stop. They want to make this flood of data interpretable and convert it into meaningful information and insights. That's why they need experts who are familiar with this.

So the data scientist plays an increasingly important role in times of Big Data. By preparing, analysing, visualising and applying the data, he helps companies to find concrete solutions to their problems. He generates insights, using concepts such as statistics, data analysis, machine learning and artificial intelligence.

And is Data Science also something for me?

Data science is a fairly new but exciting discipline, which is made up of many different disciplines. The professional field is dynamic and not well defined, so you will come across many job offers looking for data analysts or data engineers in addition to data scientists. Just have a look at different Data Jobs to get a feeling for the different requirements. Many data scientists come from STEM disciplines. But basically everybody can learn to become a Data Scientist who has analytical skills and enjoys experimenting.

University or Bootcamp?

In the meantime, there are some universities that offer a bachelor or master degree in data science and other data disciplines. A bachelor's degree course is first of all about basics. You learn the theory from areas like computer science, mathematics and data science. Then you can deepen your field of interest. Depending on the orientation of the degree program, the focus varies. Possible topics include artificial intelligence or data analysis. With a Master in Data Science you can then specialize further, so how about Data Engineering and Analytics or Machine Learning?

Not in the mood to study? Then maybe a Data Science Bootcamp or an online course is just right for you. It does not always have to be a university degree. Data Science Bootcamps are usually 12-week intensive courses. There you will learn from practical coaches everything you need to know to start your new job as a data scientist. For those who can't be on site or prefer to learn all this from the beach, online courses might be a good alternative.

Wie wird man eigentlich Data Scientist?

Alle relevanten Infos zum Data Science Karrierestart für dich auf einen Blick – Studiengänge, Kurse und Bootcamps

Wir zeigen dir, auf welchen Wegen du dir ein stabiles Skill-Set aneignen kannst, damit dir der Jobeinstieg in die Data Science und in verwandte datenbasierte Disziplinen gelingt. Auf dieser Seite haben wir deshalb für dich allgemeine Informationen über das Berufsbild und über die verschiedenen Aus- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten zusammengestellt.

Bachelor

Du interessierst dich für einen Bachelor in Data Science? Wir haben alle relevanten Studiengänge für dich aufgelistet.

Mehr erfahren

Master

Du suchst nach einem Data Science Master-Studiengang, mit dem du auf dein vorhandenes Wissen aufbauen kannst? Dann bist du hier richtig.

Mehr erfahren

Kurse

Ein Studium ist nichts für dich? Keine Sorge, du kannst deine Data Science Skills auch durch ein Bootcamp oder einen Online-Kurs aufbauen.

Mehr erfahren

FAQ

Was macht ein Data Scientist genau?

Data Scientists haben sehr gute Chancen auf dem Jobmarkt. Das liegt daran, dass Unternehmen heutzutage nahezu pausenlos Daten sammeln. Diese Datenflut wollen sie interpretierbar machen und in sinnvolle Informationen und Erkenntnisse umwandeln. Deshalb brauchen sie Expertinnen und Experten, die sich damit auskennen.

Der Data Scientist spielt in Zeiten von Big Data also eine immer größere Rolle. Indem er die Daten aufbereitet, analysiert, visualisiert und anwendet, hilft er Unternehmen dabei konkrete Lösungen für deren Probleme zu finden. Er generiert Insights und nutzt dafür beispielsweise Konzepte der Statistik, der Datenanalyse, des maschinellen Lernens und der künstlichen Intelligenz.

Und ist Data Science auch was für mich?

Data Science ist eine recht neue, aber spannende Disziplin, die sich aus vielen verschiedenen Fachgebieten zusammensetzt. Das Berufsfeld ist dynamisch und nicht genau definiert, so wirst du auf viele Stellenangebote stoßen, die neben Data Scientists auch Data Analysten oder Data Engineers suchen. Schau dir dafür einfach mal verschiedene Data Jobs an, um ein Gespür für die verschiedenen Anforderungen zu bekommen. Viele Data Scientists sind NaturwissenschaftlerInnen. Aber im Grunde kann jeder lernen Data Scientist zu werden, der analytische Fähigkeiten besitzt und Spaß am Experimentieren hat.

Studium oder Bootcamp?

Es gibt in der Zwischenzeit einige Universitäten, die einen Bachelor- oder Master-Abschluss in Data Science und weiteren Daten-Disziplinen anbieten. In einem Bachelorstudium geht es zunächst mal um Grundlagen. Du lernst die Theorie aus Bereichen wie Informatik, Mathematik und Data Science. Anschließend kannst du dein Interessengebiet vertiefen. Je nach Ausrichtung des Studiengangs variieren die Schwerpunkte, mögliche Themen sind beispielsweise Artificial Intelligence oder Datenanalyse. Mit einem Master in Data Science kannst du dich dann weiter spezialisieren, wie wäre es also mit Data Engineering and Analytics oder mit Machine Learning?

Keine Lust auf Studium? Dann ist vielleicht ein Data Science Bootcamp oder ein Online-Kurs genau das richtige für dich. Nicht immer muss es ein abgeschlossenes Hochschulstudium sein. Data Science Bootcamps sind meist 12-wöchige Intensivkurse. Dort lernst du von praxisnahen Coaches alles, was du für einen Start in deinen neuen Job als Data Scientist wissen musst. Für alle, die nicht vor Ort sein können oder all das lieber vom Strand aus lernen möchten, sind möglicherweise Online-Kurse eine gute Alternative.